Use your position for good, not evil.

20 Apr

I have to write this from a personal point of view. It’s about people with authority and power who do all they can to make others feel like they are less than what they really are. I see it going on with my daughter, and her track teammates. It even happens in the class rooms and offices across this country.  I personally find it very disgusting when people do this and grin while they do and say things to others.

A few of my daughters track coaches feel it necessary to degrade kids and make them cry instead of making them feel like they are part of the team no matter what their talent level is. I am doing all I can to not go up and make myself sound like a fool and say what needs to be said. A real coach or teacher will do what it takes to bring the best out in a child. A real boss will do the same as well. I have seen people of power do what it takes to make people quiet or give up just for grins and the satisfaction of knowing they can.

30 years ago mentors of kids ( coaches and teachers ) would bring the best out of any child. Not today, is it because the coaches and teachers have no clue as to what they are doing? Good supervisors bring out the best on co-workers as well. They are out there, but not as many as there use to be. I have a few real good ones above me, but I have been at places where they should have been fired instead of the workers below them.

I think all teachers and coaches should be evaluated and tested on their ability to deal with humans and not just books. A lot of them would be fired if you ask me . I feel we can do better instead of accepting that this is all we got to mentor our kids at school.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,280 other followers

