Just when you think……..

11 Aug

Just when you think life is cool. Even if you are in a situation you would rather be out of and you’re getting use to the mud hole you’re in. BAM, another cow dumps a huge load on you. What do you do ? You try to fix it and shower off that pile of cow poo that’s all over you.

I was to get my unemployment 3 days ago. It said there is a pending issue on the web site. I’m thinking it will be fixed by the next day , because you know computers sometimes have issues .  And we all know that this computer world makes life easy ( yah right try finding a job on the computer with no face to face interaction ) . So it’s now a few days later and I get a letter in the mail saying my “unemployment” status is an issue.

I drive to the unemployment office and try to work this out the old way . I wanted to talk to someone face to face and resolve it A.S.A.P.. The person behind the desk grins and says there is no one here that you can talk to. I look around and there is about 30 people there ” playing” on their computer.  He takes me to a phone and says I can call and talk to a person on the phone.

I call and all I get is a machine that has me push buttons and then it hangs up on me with no help at all. Who says the ” computer” age makes life easier these days ? Is everyone that busy working or playing on their social network page to help humans ?

I want to take a shower ( get my problem fixed ) and all I get is a locked door ( go to the web site or call a machine that hangs up on you ) to the shower room.

Even when you want to apply for a job . All you get is , go to the web site ( and it’s a locked door to the shower room ) and apply which ends up taking over an hour for a $10.00 an hour job. I want that shower ( face to face interaction so I can sell myself and get hired ) .   I will not give up on that shower .  I do not like the smell of cow poo ( being unemployed and now not getting unemployment ) on me .

Who said life is easier these days with the computers needs to be in my shoes and dance .

QUOTE OF THE DAY ; If at first you don’t succeed ,  before you try again , stop to figure out what you did wrong. ( Leo Rosten ).

14 Responses to “Just when you think……..”

  1. Gill Mojo August 11, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Yeah, Chad, much as I love computers and technology in general (except cell phones), they often seem to cause more trouble than they’re worth. A prime example is supermarkets. Many a time I’ve been in a queue at the checkout, only to have the computerised system break down… and can the cashier use a piece of paper and a pencil to add up on… can they heck!
    Hope things get better for you very soon.

  2. Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by and reading Gill . I sure hope things get better also. I am not a fan of this compter age for things like applying for work. It does save on gas, but it takes away the art of selling oneself. It also lets people be who they are not in real life. I sure hope I get my unemployment so I can eat.

  3. Leigh August 11, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    I feel your pain!! But, here in Grand Rapids, we are fortunate enough to have people behind the desk who will work with you…and I have determined to utilize them face to face if only to save a government job from elimination….

  4. Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Thank you Leigh for reading. I did drive to the unemployment office today. They told me to use the phone at the desk. No one ” could” help me . I guess their computer games was to intense. But the unemployment office did say a company was hiring . So I drove to that company, and when I got there they said that they was not hiring.

  5. Beth August 11, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Computers are great…for some things. The problem is that they should never be used as a replacement for a human being–and quality human interaction. I love what Leigh said about purposefully utilizing face-to-face encounters for the purpose of helping someone retain their job. That’s terrific!

    • Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      Beth you are right about your thoughts in my opinion . When we do have the luck to talk to someone face to face their human relation skills have kind of gone south. I wish there was less computers doing the work and way more humans. That way people would be less stressed out and there would be less unemployment in this world. Thank you for reading my blog also.

  6. Jo Heroux August 11, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Gonna try again. Gotta add my 2 cents here. I also support the no automation jobs stealer by NEVER using the self check outs at stores. I will stand in line while it sits idle because I want those checkers to have jobs!
    Best of luck with the unemployment red tape, it can be a hassle, for sure. Hopefully you’ll land a job before long. Fingers crossed for your success. C:

    • Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Yes Jo you are right about the checkout line. I never liked the self checkout . I did use it 2 times and both times the machines froze up on me. I like going to the ones with humans working. Talking to people is a healthy part of life.

  7. Kathy Winans August 11, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    I TOTALLY understand what you’re going through! My poor hubby has struggled for awhile to get a job again. I was always so FRUSTRATED that all they ever want is for you to “apply online”! I was always taught that you should go in person to apply…and you ask for the supervisor (or whoever is hiring)..that way they at least get to SEE you and get a “feel” for you as a person. An electronic application is so lifeless!! Apparently, this is the new age. And I think it is unfortunate in some ways, because I think employers would get a much better and “idea” out of a range of persons that they actually at least “greeted” in person! I am glad to report that after some time, my husband was able to land a good job, even based on these obscure “internet” applications. Fortunately, they called him for an interview (based on his credentials) and then upon meeting him in person discovered how much they really liked him! So he was hired. That is a happy ending for us…but believe me, it took some time, and I TOTALLY understand your frustration. With the computer it is almost a “numbers game”, especially nowadays with all the applicants. Now it seems you just have to HOPE your application stands out so they will CALL you for that face-to-face interview that will land you the job. Good luck you!! It will happen for you, just keep on keeping-on! 🙂

    • Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      Thank you for reading my blog Kathy. I agree with you. And I bet there are thousands of good people out there that get over looked each day, and there are thousands who should not be working but are ( like Washington D.C. )……

  8. janelyn johnson August 11, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    i will take it one step further, i work in retail and the theft is staggering. in the self checkoutlines customers have been caught running an eight dollar item for a $75.oo electronics . so to make the same profit they cut hours. i recommend they go back to the old days. the customer goes to the clerk hand them their list and wait while the clerk fills it.yes they would have to hire more clerks,but will be less theft. i also worked at a call center and no one wanted to help the customers because it took to long. they were piffing calls and they juggled with the computers so much that they hit the stats the co. wanted so they all would get a bonus.. har har they are out of business.. computers are not always the answer….doxies

    • Chad Johnson August 11, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

      That’s another good point Janelyn. People get so use to computers doing the work that theft is on the rise ( the job market don’t help either ). But I wish there was more people working and less computers. The face to face talking is the best way to fix problems or make life easier.

  9. Wendy Wilkins Valdez August 12, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Sounds like one of New Jersey’s employment offices! LOL I love computers, but you have to keep in mind that 1) they’re created by humans, 2) they’re operated by humans, 3) they’re programmed by humans and 4) the information they contain was input by humans. As long as everyone of those humans does their job correctly, things run smoothly, provided a fifth human element doesn’t come into play – hackers and attackers. And, there are hardware failures as well, but they’re less frequent than human failures, for sure. I’ve taken many a poo bath myself, so I can totally relate!

    • Chad Johnson August 12, 2011 at 6:29 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by and reading my blog Wendy. Yes the programs are done by humans, but once the program is done, how many humans lose their job because of the computer? I would rather talk to a person then hit 6 buttons to get an answer that did not help me LOL. But yes the unemployment office here in Missouri is a mess. Today I finally got to talk to a real person face to face and the problem was fixed in about 3 minutes. Yesterday I spent about 4 hours calling and having a machine on the other end hang up on me all day long. I hope you keep coming back and reading my post Wendy.

Leave a comment