Death Penalty, for it or against it ?

16 Sep

Now this is a touchy subject. The death penalty. Are you for it or against it ? There are those out there who think it is a great deterrent on crime. I may be wrong, but all of the stats I read on it says other wise. State that has the death penalty have higher crime rates than those without it. Think about it they are criminals. If this punishment worked, then there would be no more murders.

How do most of you feel about innocent people being put down ? There are those out there who say ,” well mistakes happen.” I learn from my mistakes and I hate to repeat mistakes. In this case the same mistake has been repeated way to many times.

Most of the people who are for the death penalty are against abortion. They say well a child has done nothing wrong and deserves to live. Well so do the innocent people being charged with a crime they did not commit. These are the same people who say the government needs to cut cost. Do you know it cost more to keep someone on death row then to keep them in prison for life? Well it does with all the appeals and the process it take to put someone down.

Here is a question for those who are for this penalty. If your son , daughter or mom was wrongfully accused of a crime they did not commit, would you want to see then put in the chair and have the lights turned out on their parade? If you say yes, you are a sick ass person. If you say no not this one time because they are family, then you are one big ass hypocrite. Because everyone is someones family. You can not have it both ways !

I for one am against the death penalty. I would rather have 1000 guilty people in prison for life then to have an innocent person put under all because “it’s the law”.

Also Putting someone down will not bring back the dead from the past. But it may have just ended another innocent persons life. When will this crazy circle end?

We are up there with China, Iran, Iraq ( I think ) , North Korea as far as numbers goes with federal death penalties. Do you want to be in that catagory ?

This is the way I look at it and you may have another way at looking at it. I am open minded about other people having thier point of view, are you?

Don’t forget to vote. Thank you. http://about.me/chadjohnson1

QUOTE OF THE DAY ; Forever be a dreamer ! When your memories outnumber your dreams, the end is near. ( Edge Keynote ).

5 Responses to “Death Penalty, for it or against it ?”

  1. xjustanotherteenblogger September 16, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    I live in New Zealand so I don’t hear about the death penalty that often but I’m definitely against it. Some people think it’s a ‘life for a life’ kind of thing but does supporting that make us murderers too? They think it’s justice but by doing that doesn’t bring back the dead, like you said. I honestly don’t know why it’s still around, life in prison seems to be a better option to me. It’s stil life, but on less extreme terms.

    • Chad Johnson September 16, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

      Thank you fro reading my blog from all the way from New Zealand. How do people in your country look at America with our death penalties? I have family that live in Europe and they think we are animals. I am glad to hear a point of view from a person from another country. I am and will always be against it. That is my point of view. I can see how others think, but It will never help stop the evil people in this world. I would say make them work like 18 hour days for life if you want to see then pay for the crime. Plus I do not want to see an innocent person hurt. I say we need more cops to try and hel stop the crime before it happens. You are more then welcome to share my blog page with others in your country if you wish. Thank you for stopping buy and reading.

  2. Dave Howe September 16, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    If your daughter was kidnapped at the age of 5 and was repeatedly raped for a period of 10 years and then was murdered by the same sick man at the age of 15, should the murderer be sentenced to death?

    I hear your side of view. But it sounds like you are only looking at the situation from the perspective of the murderer (or accused murderer). Try looking at the situation from the perspective of the victim’s family.

    My grandmother (Eloise Doyle) was kidnapped and murdered back in June 1999. The murderers (Paul and Cheri Pilipow) were Canadian citizens. They did not get the death penalty. Paul was sentenced to life in prison. Cheri is serving 21 years. Google their names and read the story. I believe they should have received the death penalty. How much does life in prison cost the tax payers?

    • Chad Johnson September 16, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      I am so sorry to hear that about your grandmother. Both should have gotten life with hard labor. If something happened to my daughter like that I would still be against the death penalty. It would not bring her back , and who knows if they even got the right person. But i would ask the judge if I could have 15 minutes alone with the person and I would unleash all of my anger out on that person. They would have a broken back. From what I have read it cost like 30,000 a year for life in prison, but the appeals cost a few million a piece and most get 5 or 6 appeals. But man Dave I am sorry about what happened to your grandmother. That would rip me apart. I can see in that case why you think that, heck it was your grandma. But I still would not be for it, I would be in too much pain to care about the idiots who did that.

      • Doug May 13, 2017 at 11:03 pm #

        I was one of the detectives on the Eloise Doyle case. We got the right people. Both should have received the death sentence.

        You make me laugh with your hard labor comment and 5 minutes alone with them. Hard labor is cruel and unusual punishment so it cannot be imposed and according to your logic, what if you broke the back of an innocent person?

        I do not believe the death sentence deters anyone except that particular offender. That offender will not escape or commit another violent crime against a human being.

        The murder of AZ DPS Officer Robert K. Martin was another of my cases. Ernesto S. Martinez III did receive the death sentence in that case. Since incarcerated he has stabbed two guard and at least one cellmate. Not sure how many more he will seriously injure until his sentence is carried out. Uncertain if his sentence will ever be carried out due to issues obtaining the drugs for lethal injection and the issue of being sentenced to death by a judge.

Leave a Reply

