Some Roller Coaster Rides Are Not Worth Riding.

3 Oct

How many of you have been on a roller coaster ride? You have all sorts of emotions in your stomach because of the up and down movement and the speed of the ride. How many of you have been in a part of your life that you have never been in before and had the same feeling ? Yet all you are doing is sitting on the couch.

Sometimes life is very much like a roller coaster ride. Try being laid off and not knowing if you will be able to pay your bills or even eat for that day. Some roller coaster rides you will have friends ride with you. Other rides the same friend will not ride with you. Then there are people who will ride with you and you would not even know they will be next to you until the ride comes up.

I have had talks with people who are in my shoes ( jobless and worried), and they are going on the same ride. They have noticed that “friends” that were around when we had a job are now gone and not found. Then there are family and friends who are even closer to you now than ever before. They now know we need that co-pilot now more than when we had a job and money.

Some people only want to be with you all for status reasons. If you ever fall into my roller coaster ride you will find out the hard way. It is a ride you will not like at all. You never will know who will ride with you until you stand in line for that one roller coaster ride. I know I am not the only one , but I am the only one who will post such thoughts.

Everyone needs to sit back and rethink about how they act during certain rides in life. This is a very scary ride to be on. All I hear from people is well I wish I could help. You will find out real fast, it’s not what you know but who you know in life. And sometimes the ones you do know are not worth knowing after all. Then there are those who are the best one to have around for the ride.

QOUTE OF THE DAY ; Decide to love and do what you like. (St. Augustine).

6 Responses to “Some Roller Coaster Rides Are Not Worth Riding.”

  1. Dan Simon October 4, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    I know the feeling. I’m there right now. Worked my tail off as an undergrad and graduate student. Earned a degree in Poli Sci and Journalism. I can’t find a job to save my life. I can’t even get a job at Taco Bell (really…). I feel like I’ve been duped by the system. They told me to play by the rules and I did; Just like a monkey. And what reward did I get? I got my opportunities stolen from me and now I’m jobless living with my mother. I’ve got one friend who is there to hear me vent, all my other friends are nowhere to be found. Nice post and thanks for sharing.

    • Chad Johnson October 4, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

      Dan thank you for reading. When I apply for $10 an hour jobs , I’m told I’m over qualified because of the work history. When I apply for jobs that are $15.00 and higher, I’m told I’m under qualified because those jobs now require a 4 year degree. These are jobs in the field that I have been in for 20 years now. They system has it set up to where about 3% will get hired the rest will be told we are lazy and do not want to find a job. I am very tired of hearing that. I also think unemployment is way higher then the news is telling us. Let’s all hope things turn for the better.

      • coco loco October 15, 2011 at 11:40 am #

        it’s hard, i know. we have degrees, there are no jobs. over-educated, over-qualified, under-employed. the system mr simon refers to is in flux. we didn’t get duped…it was a dream, an american dream. but the dream was flawed…the frustration many folks are feeling right now isn’t new to a great many americans who are not white. i am pissed, but i am not surprised. because i am not white. or male. 😉

        all the stuff brown folks and women have been complaining about the past 50 years is now being experienced by a class of folks who’d been insulated in the dream (middle class white folks) and who are being evicted from the dream.

        welcome to the struggle, brother chad. http://catnipandmint.blogspot.com/2011/10/what-would-ceasar-do.html

      • Chad Johnson October 15, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

        Thank you Coco Loco. I have been preaching this for about 20 years. I just found out about blogs when I was laid off in June. I was just wondering when others would see what I have been seeing for years. I just wish the upper 1% would have a heart, but that’s a dream. I do not want a hand out at all. But I do think all Americans should have the chance to work and have a humble life style, not one thats is full of poverty because of the greed of a few.

  2. Dan November 2, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    We gotta keep fighting. Opportunities are everywhere. It’s just a matter of where those opportunities are.

    • Chad Johnson November 2, 2011 at 11:52 am #

      Yes Dan you are right. The problem is the opportunities have been outsourced for a lot of people in this great country . Thank you for reading my blog, and I hope the future is brighter then the last 20 years have been. We are better then what is going on right now.

Leave a Reply

